Gdje sam? Skip Navigation Links Vijesti i arhiva

Novosti News

29.1.2017. 18:32

Non-Jewish Germans honoured for preserving local Jewish history

Non-Jewish Germans who have helped preserve local Jewish history were honoured at the 17th annual Obermayer German Jewish History Awards.

Rolf Wieland, president of the Berlin House of Representatives, presented the awards -- established by the late American philanthropist Arthur Obermayer -- on Monday in the Berlin Senate.
The ceremonies are among many events marking International Holocaust Remembrance Day, the anniversary of the liberation of Auschwitz 72 years ago.

Virtually all the award winners said they face the same challenge: reaching a younger generation with a history rapidly fading from memory.

Nijemci , koji nisu Židovi,   a koji su pomogli da se očuva lokalna povijest Židova,  dobili su nagrade na " 17th annual Obermayer German Jewish,  History Awards". Nagradu je uručio Rolf Wieland ,predsjednik  berlinske " House of Representatives" , a nagradu je ustanovio američki filantrop  Arthur Obermayer . 

Ova ceremonija bila je među mnogima koje su označile  Međunarodni dan sjećanja na Holokaust  ( 72 godine od oslobađanja Auschwitza). Svi su dobitnici nagrade kazali da su imali izazov kako  da do mladih generacija dopre povijest, koja se sada brzo gubi iz sjećanja.

 dobitni su: 

Angelika Rieber of Frankfurt, whose 40-year-old, non-profit Jewish Life Project has brought thousands of local teens in contact with the city’s former Jewish residents and their descendants.

* Thilo Figaj, a cosmetics manufacturer and local politician from Lorsch, Hesse, who has championed remembrance of the Jews of his town and written a biography of Heinz Jost, a local Nazi war criminal who was deliberately left out of postwar history books.

* Volker Landig and Hartmut Peters, co-founders of Gröschler House: Centre for Jewish History and Contemporary History of the Friesland/Wilhelmshaven Region.

* Historian Ina Lorenz and attorney Jörg Berkemann, professors who spent 20 years researching and writing a seven-volume history of the Jews in Hamburg under the Nazis.

A Distinguished Service Award was given to the Leipziger Synagogue Choir, founded in 1962 in the former East Germany by Cantor Werner Sander. Since its inception, most of its members have been non-Jews dedicated to reconnecting Germans with their Jewish musical past.